Questions 4:

  1. From what you have experienced so far, what is your opinion of the role of technology in the music classroom as it pertains to your situation?
  2. From what you have experienced so far, how can notation software be utilized in your music classroom?
About Music Educator, Clinician, Author

Amy M. Burns holds a Bachelor of Music in both Education and Performance from Ithaca College and a Master of Science in Music Education from Central Connecticut State University (CCSU), with her capstone research project focusing on composition with music technology at the second grade level. She also holds TI:ME levels 1 and 2 certification as well as Orff level 1 certification and Kodály level 1 certification. For the past fifteen years, Ms. Burns has taught general music to grades Pre-Kindergarten through three, directed the instrumental band, the flute and clarinet ensembles, the elementary choruses, and coordinated the after-school conservatory for Far Hills Country Day School, in Far Hills, New Jersey. She has also been an adjunct professor at CCSU, Montclair State University, and William Paterson University. She has presented workshops on integrating music technology into the elementary music classroom for district and state conferences in New Jersey, Florida, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Maine, Connecticut, New York, Michigan, Kentucky, and Texas. Ms. Burns has also presented sessions at the 2004, 2006, 2008-2012 national conferences for Technology for Music Education (TI:ME); the 2006 National Association for Music Education (NAfME) national conference in Salt Lake City, Utah; the 2007 NAfME eastern divisional conference in Hartford, Connecticut; the 2009 and 2010 NAfME Music Education Week in Washington DC, the 2011 NAfME Conference in Baltimore, MD, and the 2011 AOSA conference in Pittsburgh, PA. She has taught courses and contributed lesson plans for the SoundTree Institute and has written articles for the TI:ME website, the TI:ME newsletter, SoundTree Resource News, NAfME General Music Today, NJMEA Tempo, and Music Education Technology (MET) magazine. She is the lead author and editor of a book of technology-enhanced lesson plans titled, Technology Integration in the Elementary Music Classroom, published by Hal Leonard and is currently a contributing author to Online Learning Exchange™ Interactive Music powered by Silver Burdett. In 2005, Ms. Burns was awarded the first-ever TI:ME Teacher of the Year Award in recognition of her outstanding achievements in integrating music technology into the elementary classroom. In 2008, she was elected as President-Elect of TI:ME, and began her presidential term in the fall of 2010. She is now the Past-President.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Questions 4:

  1. Keith Presty says:

    So far, after seeing so many wonderful things in class, I realize technology plays an extremely small role in my classroom. An occasional CD burn, internet searches, and steaming music, does not seem to scratch the surface of what is out there and what can be done with technology in the classroom. I am excited, somewhat overwhelmed and excited to start integrating more technology into my classroom.
    I see notation software being used in many ways in my classroom. Writing original music for student ensembles and allowing students to arrange and compose are two. I am most excited to create custom worksheets and exercises emphasizing concepts taught in class.

  2. Julie Teitsma says:

    1. From what I’ve experienced in class, I can definitely say that technology is very under-used in my classroom, and that there are so many ways to use technology that I would love to implement. Although I have budget concerns and a severe lack of equipment (only one working computer and no projection capabilities—long story 🙂 ), I could be using Sibelius (which is currently on my computer) in my small instrument classes, and I can use internet resources in the computer lab with my larger classes.

    2. I currently use Sibelius to create arrangements of pieces for my instrument classes as well as to input and transpose songs for the spring musical singers. I could implement the use of Sibelius in my classes by having my instrument class students compose and perform their pieces on their instruments. If the budget allows for this in the future, I would love to purchase a later Sibelius version and have it loaded onto as many computer lab computers as I’m allowed to, which would make the program useable in my larger classes.

  3. Christine Clear says:

    Without a classroom, my technology level in the classroom is non existent – but now I will be able to discuss in an interview how I can use technology effectively in the classroom. My technology use last year was playing an iPod through some speakers and using Finale to edit some parts and create soundtracks… I realize now that if I had understood how to use the technology I had, I could have saved myself a lot of time! One thing I feel you need in order to use a lot of the technology in the classroom is a reliable computer, which I did not have in my situation. The idea of using a computer in the classroom, even if it’s just one projected on a screen, is difficult to implement when you are traveling from class to class (without any passing time!) If the classrooms have SMART boards, that’s different, but in situations where the outdated computer does not work half of the time and cannot be projected anywhere, the technology you can use in the classroom is limited. Creating accompaniment tracks, recording students, posting material online, making worksheets, and other ways of using the technology can still be used, and enhance the lessons exponentially. More and more schools are putting better technology in the classrooms, but there are plenty of classrooms that are stuck in the ’90’s.

    Notation software is a great tool, one that is more useful than I knew it could be. Notation software can be used to write out parts, edit parts, transpose parts, and the like. I did not know that the software had worksheets in it! I will definitely use those in the future! If I have the resources, I will try to have my students use the software to help them compose. And extracting the parts makes creating individual parts much easier!

  4. Pat Merlucci says:

    From experience acquired thusfar, the role of music tech in both my general music and band prgrams will be an invaluable marketing tool for learned musical skills and the preferred means for communication. It will not replace artistry of distinction, but I do think it will be the source and force that communicates to the society of the 21rst century.

    Hats off to music notation software. As a band director, (when in need) children’s song writer and mediocre transposer, yippee.

Leave a Reply

